What to do when a Reporter Calls

by
Everyone in a startup recognizes what a boon an interview can be. It’s literally worth thousands and thousands of dollars; it can get you employees, it can find you money, it can send customers to your door.But it’s a scary thing, too. I’ve personally been deeply embarrassed a couple of times when I was mis-quoted, and, I admit, a couple of times when I wasn’t. Now I can laugh about it, but, at the time, I wanted to head into the back-country with 6 years worth of groceries (for why NOT to do this, go see Into the Wild, now playing!).

The Globe and Mail’s Report on Business has a great article today called “What to do when a reporter calls”. I’ve printed it out and put it on the wall. It’s superb advice.

If you have a subscription, it’s online.

If you don’t subscribe to the online edition, well, you may have to resort to the environmentally lamentable paper edition! Or you can e-mail me and I will send you a copy. I won’t post it here for obvious copyright-issue reasons.

November 1, 2007 | Registered CommenterThe Startup Guy

Leave a Reply

